facebook

Adding formatting to a form generated email

1. MobiOne Archive
  2.  > 
  3. Getting Help – General
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

JustinDupuy

I have created a vehicle inspection app that works similar to your example entitled “creating a survey and emailing results”.
    found here:
    http://www.genuitec.com/mobile/docs/surveyEmailForm/resources/survey_example.zip

I have been trying to figure out how to format the email so it isn’t so bland. I’d like it to look more like a spreadsheet or a cleanly laid out form. In your example, you have:
    Q1: boxers
    Q2: rock

I have alot more data to display, so formatting would help. I realize the best way to do this would probably be to create a server side form and let the app populate that using php (since this app is for our company only), but I am still pretty new at this and haven’t tackled php yet. Do you have any suggestions?

#346576 Reply

Brandon

You could use HTML formatting in javascript.
    Example:
    yourNewVariable = “<u>This is correct!</u>”;
    myFinalText = “Your answer to <b>Question 1</b> was <b> Q1: boxers</b> ” + yourNewVariable;

then send that to an email or an HTML widget.

#346713 Reply

JustinDupuy

Thank you for your help… I am still struggling though. I’m sure it’s something easy.

SummaryTextArea is a text area input variable that populates from the results of page 1. It sends as a form in email format.

//runs upon opening results page
    function updateSummary() {

var currentMiles = $(‘input[name=”MilesHours”]’).val();
    var serviceDue = $(‘input[name=”NextServiceDue”]’).val();
    var result = “”;

//get heading data
    result += $(‘input[name=”TruckNumber”]’).val() + ” “;
    result += $(‘input[name=”PerformedBy”]’).val() + ” “;
    result += $(‘input[name=”Date”]’).val() + “\n\n”;
    result += “JobNumber:\t\t” + $(‘input[name=”JobNumber”]’).val() + “\n”;
    result += “Current Miles/Hours:\t” + $(‘input[name=”MilesHours”]’).val() + “\n”;