facebook

[Closed] Need Help With Matisse – Develop a "real"

1. MyEclipse Archived
  2.  > 
  3. Matisse/Swing UI Development
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Glenn Puckett
    Participant

Hello,

I have MyEclipse 5.5.1.GA installed over Eclipse 3.2.2.

I admit I am a J2EE developer trying to learn how to develop applications for a windows environment. So I have to rely heavily on examples, documentation, tutorials, etc, etc. All I need usually is one good tutorial and I can make good progress. In the current case, it’s just not happening.

I am really struggling figuring out how to develop my application using M4M. In the tutorials and documents all I can find is an extremely simple example of a single screen application. That’s not exactly “real life”. I need to figure out how to show different forms, information screens, formatted data, etc based on which options I select from the menus at the top.

It appears that layers is the way to go and I have found a few examples of developing layered components using Java. But I can’t figure out how to do this using M4M. I have tried adding code to the generated modules that attempt to manage the layers but so far am unable to do that.

What I have tried so far is to set up my main class with the menu bar and a JDesktopPane under that. I then added a number of regular JPanes to the JDesktopPane. Each JPane is set to DefaultLayer. I then added code to the events from the menu bar that would call moveToBack() the current JPane and moveToFront() the JPane representing the selected menu option. This didn’t work. So I added a setLayer() but was just guessing which layer numbers. I also added setVisible(x) to the appropriate panes. So far I can’t get anything to display in the area representing the JDesktopPane, even at startup.