facebook

From UML to Database tools chain in an iterative dev cycle

1. MyEclipse IDE
  2.  > 
  3. Feature Requests
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

factset
    Participant

Hello,

I’m new to myEclipse and I think it is close to be a brilliant tool, but I miss a “tool chain” from design to implementation.

Lets say I want to create a new web application today.
    Choosing Tomcat 6, Java EE5, Spring 2, Hibernate 3.2 sounds (today) a good combination, so with that config :

I have a dream… that today, with MyEclipse, I could :

1/ Generate a UML class diagram with my main entities (and especially the relation ships 1..n …)
    Actually we can create such diagram, so far so good

2/ Generate Java entities classes (POJOs with generated getter/setters option) from the UML diagram
    Actually we can do it (except getters/setters), but there is no support of Java5 generics (as List<MyEntity> or Set<MyEntity>), that is really a pitty.

3/ Generate Hibernate Mapping files + Database tables from the entities.
    Actually, I don’t think we can do it.

If it comes to a fantastic dream, we could also have :
    – Possibility of choosing usage of Hibernate mapping files or Persistence Annotations
    – Both directions synchro UML <–> Java <–> Hibernate <–> Database
    – because it’s a dream, I can add as well : not too much (not at all ?) markers or special comments in the Java classes to keep the synchro with UML, just virgin POJO

Would be nice isn’t ? :p

Regards
    Philippe

#269162 Reply

Riyad Kalla

Philippe,
    This *is* a great vision and takes a lot of work to implement, especially when the technology included in the vision is constantly changing. We have been hard at work at relizing good tooling for the individual technology stacks, and hope in a future release to better integrate the tools together to help achieve this sort of development.

#269222 Reply

factset
    Participant

Sure.