facebook

Hibernate *DAO.save()

1. MyEclipse Archived
  2.  > 
  3. Database Tools (DB Explorer, Hibernate, etc.)
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

gavin9

Greetings,
    I’m new to Hibernate. I have read the MyEclipse Hibernate Quickstart and have made a test application following the tutorial. I can retrieve entities fine, as shown in the tutorial, however I am unable to save records.

Advertisement ad = new Advertisement("title", "desc", java.util.Calendar.getInstance().getTime());
    dao.save(ad);

As far as the DAO is concerned, the object is being saved:

14:23:29,090 DEBUG AbstractSaveEventListener:106 - generated identifier: 3, using strategy: org.hibernate.id.IncrementGenerator
    14:23:29,090 DEBUG AbstractSaveEventListener:139 - saving [hbtest.Advertisement#3]
    14:23:29,106 DEBUG AdvertisementDAO:31 - save successful

But when I browse the database there is only 2 records there. Can someone point out what I’m missing?

TIA

#257845 Reply

Are you in a transaction? Do you commit it?
    If you wrote a Spring hibernate junit test, then they automatically roll-back the transaction after the test case completes. Which is actually a neat feature, as you can set up your DB table by deleting all rows, then inserting only the rows you want, run your tests, and at the end of the test, it’s as if you never did anything.

#261125 Reply