facebook

Hibernate POJOs

1. MyEclipse Archived
  2.  > 
  3. Database Tools (DB Explorer, Hibernate, etc.)
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

markericksen

I’m new to Eclipse and Hibernate so forgive me if this has already been discussed.

In my first example program I created a database and used the myeclipseide database manager to generate Hibernate classes.

For each table, two classes were made. The first being an abstract class with comments in the class indicating that this file should not be edited and the second file free for the developer to edit.

Questions:

How can I just create one POJO object per table?
    When will myeclipseide be free from the “soft lock”* it wants on the interface files?

*In many development environments, different developers modify the same files. Different developers use different tools and some don’t like IDEs at all. An IDE should not inject its wishes on the code and assume it is the only editor for any file.

#227239 Reply

Riyad Kalla

How can I just create one POJO object per table?

You can’t, although we might evaluate this as an enhancement for future release. The reason we don’t want to go down this path is because people may use this setting accidentally, heavily modify their classes, then re-gen from the DB and have all their changes overwritten which would be considerably more damaging then simply having “too many classes”.

When will myeclipseide be free from the “soft lock”* it wants on the interface files?

Please clarify what you mean. This was an active decision we made, not one out of technical limitations.

An IDE should not inject its wishes on the code and assume it is the only editor for any file.