facebook

How to import existing, non-eclipse project

1. MyEclipse IDE
  2.  > 
  3. General Development
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

jebrick

I am new to Eclipse but old time J2EE developer. I have a project that the directory structure is set up with the J2EE Blueprints from Sun(http://java.sun.com/blueprints/code/projectconventions.html). This requires multiple, linked Ant build files. I would like to keep the ant build since it is set up to deploy to 2 different App servers based on targets. So far Eclipse seems to not like that directory structure for projects and does not like the miltiple, linked Ant files.

How would I import or bring in the file so that the directory stucture is preserved ( so i do not have to change the Ant files)?

Baring that, how do I set up a J2EE project to handle the Ant files?

Thanks,

#227690 Reply

tojx

Personally I think when integrating into eclipse in particular into myEclipse it’s best to lay out a new directory structure in ‘the eclipse way’.
    Eclipse and myEclipse are very good with handling the different projects and deploying them to an application server.

If you still want to keep your existing directory structure you could probably just set up a new J2EE enterprise project in myEclipse and copy all the existing stuff into that directory manually.

You’d then need to specify your source directories (right click on project, choose ‘properties’ and select the tab ‘Build Path’, there you can configure one or many source directories).

To use existing ant build files, go to the properties again, select ‘builders’ and add a new ‘ant build’. I recommend turning off the automatic build (in the main menu under ‘project’ deselect ‘build automatically’)

But using all this you couldn’t use the nice deploy features of myEclipse …

#227691 Reply

jebrick