facebook

How to integrate Winmerge with MyEclipse?

1. MyEclipse IDE
  2.  > 
  3. Installation, Configuration & Updates
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

arees

Hi all,

I have seen MyEclipse setup so that when there is a conflict when doing a CVS update, Winmerge is automatically opened to allow a manual merge. But I have done a clean install and can’t work out how to set this up.

Can anyone help?

Alex

#242912 Reply

Riyad Kalla

Alex,
    What you are asking doesn’t deal with any MyEclipse features. The CVS functionality is provided by the JDT’s team features. That being said, if you check in the JDT’s newsgroup on how to integrate a 3rd party application I’m sure they can help. I have no experience with this as I find the default CVS functionality more than enough for the work we do. (the graphical diff/merging in Eclipse is quite nice, do you really find winmerge better?)

#242955 Reply

arees

Well, any merge tool would be good – I didn’t know eclipse had a built in merge tool?

Basically, this is what I want:

When there are conflicts in a merge, the file is indicated by a red icon in the team syncronization pane. Then when you try to manually do a CVS update, I want it to pop up with a merge tool so I can manually do the merge. At the moment, I’m having to use Tortoise CVS, find the file on my hard drive, and then merge it that way using winmerge plugged in to Tortoise CVS.

Any suggestions of a better method would be greatly appretiated!

#242956 Reply

Riyad Kalla

Give the Eclipse CVS functionality a try, it’s quite nice and all integrated. I believe you need to check the project out inside of Eclipse so it knows it’s a team project, then right click and check under the Team menu.

#243215 Reply

arees

I’m using the integrated CVS functionality. How do I get the integrated merge tool to open?

#243216 Reply

Riyad Kalla