facebook

No support for automated Weblogic EJB development?

1. MyEclipse Archived
  2.  > 
  3. Application Servers and Deployment
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

jdemmon

I’m not new to J2EE programming, but I am new to MyEclipse and Weblogic 8.1. So please excuse if my question seems naive.

I’m trying to develop a simple “Hello World” stateless session EJB.

At first I tried the procedure given in the manual (Getting Started/EJB development) but quickly discovered that the procedure fails to generate the necessary stubs for Weblogic.

Then I tried Don Fair’s tutorial for creating a Weblogic stateless session bean. The heart of this procedure involves hand coding a build.xml to invoke Weblogic’s wlappc processor to generate the stubs. The build must be run manually using ant. It seems strange that this script is not included with MyEclipse or automatically generated.

Don’s procedure does produce a valid EJB with all the needed pieces. However, MyEclipse does not recognized the output of Don’s build.xml procedure. So I can’t use MyEclipse to deploy it. The resulting jar must be deployed by hand.

Another of Don’s tutorial’s shows how to create an ear for Weblogic. This also involves hand coding and manually running an ant build. It also requires manual deployment.

So it would seem that when developing EJB and EAR’s for Weblogic I must forgo most of the MyEclipse automated edit-compile-deploy features and instead invoke hand written build scripts and manually deploy the results.

But surely this can’t be true? What am I missing?

Thanks.

#228210 Reply

Riyad Kalla

At first I tried the procedure given in the manual (Getting Started/EJB development) but quickly discovered that the procedure fails to generate the necessary stubs for Weblogic.

You will likely need to adjust the XDoclet tags to include generating files for WebLogic: http://xdoclet.sourceforge.net/xdoclet/ant/xdoclet/modules/bea/wls/ejb/WebLogicSubTask.html